Karantika (Gram flour Skillet)

karantika3

Karantika is an Algerian dish , served in some regions in Morocco as well. Gram flour (ground chick pea flour) is a main ingredient for making Karantika. It’s simply gram flour , eggs and water. So it’s gluten free and dairy free.

I knew this dish by chance as I was invited few weeks ago to a picnic, I knew  eating outside will be challenging for me as I no longer eat hybrid wheat products.I was afraid I’ll have to spend the day on salad. One of my friends introduced the dish she made thinking it might sound not appealing  if I know it’s made of gram flour, it was Karantika. I was so releifed.  I tried it and I just loved it, it’s delicious and so filling .Few pieces with some salad is more than enough to satisfy a good appetite.

My friend’s recipe is available on her facebook page @ cuisine – La MeÏda (it’s in french though)
There was no problem with desert ,as I brought home made einkorn brownies that every body loved specially the kids. I Will post it soon on the blog.

I hope you’ll try this dish and like it . Please do share it with friends you know are on gluten free diet. It’s worth to try.

To make “Karantika” you’ll need

1 C gram flour (ground chick pea flour).

3 C water.
2 large eggs beaten (I use organic free run eggs).
1/2 tsp vinegar.
1/2 C olive oil (you can use vegetable oil).
2 tsp salt.
1 tsp ground cumin.

Direcions

– Mix all ingredients except ground cumin.
– Pour into a 9″ inch square pan ,brushed with butter
– Bake in preheated 350F oven for 30 miuntes.

karantika2

– Sprinkle ground cumin allover Karantika.
– Let cool 10 minutes to hold its shape before cutting .
– Serve with salad , drizzle with some hot sauce if desired.

karantika1

– Enjoy.

One thought on “Karantika (Gram flour Skillet)

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Brownie Ice Cream Sandwiches | Wasafaty, Delicious Recipes From My Kitchen

Leave a Reply

