Spelt – Kamut Rolls

DSCN8075

I adapted this recipes from Taste Of home Magazine October|November 2012 issue p.38 , the original recipe is for “Whole Wheat Potato Rolls”,the recipe is available exclusively for subscribers on the magazine’s web site http://www.tasteofhome.com/

DSCN8126

The original recipe uses both whole wheat and all-purpose flour. As I mentioned on my” going wheatless!” post https://wasafaty.wordpress.com/going-wheatless , I am in the process of eliminating modern wheat products from our household diet.  I try to adopt recipes I like with the new kinds of flour I am using right now.I also used the bread machine for kneading the dough instead of manual kneading suggested by the original recipe. The results were very satisfying. Even my picky son did not notice that the rolls were homemade .He always tells me ‘I want the “normal bread” ‘ 😮 , as he prefers the commercial white bread we used to buy  before switching  to healthier types of flour in our baking .

Here’s my recipe, I wish you’ll try it and like it.

Spelt-Kamut Rolls

1 C water

1/4 C sugar

1/4 C olive oil

1 large egg + 1/2 tsp white venigar

1 C whole spelt

2 C kamut flour

3 Tbsp mashed potato flakes

3/4 tsp salt

1 Tbsp yeast

1 egg (beaten)

Rolled oats for garnish

Directions:

1- Place the water, sugar and olive oil in the pan of the bread machine. Add  both kinds of flours and potato flakes,then salt and yeast. Make sure yeast does not touch water . Select “dough/pasta” settings, and press Start.

I always leave the dough a couple of hours more to give the dough more time to rest. It came out beautiful and easy to shape .

DSCN8056

2- Punch down dough ,divide into four equal parts, then shape each part into 3 balls.

DSCN8060

3- Place apart in a baking sheet lined with wax paper.Cover with kitchen towel and let rise for  about 45 minutes. Dough will not rise much.

4- Brush dough with egg wash and sprinkle with oats.

5- Bake in 375 F preheated oven for 10 minutes or untill rolls sound hollow when you tap their bottom.

DSCN8079

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Spelt – Kamut Rolls

  1. Pingback: Kamut International Announces Partnership with Professional Ironman Champion Linsey Corbin | Sykose

  2. Pingback: My First Einkorn Loaf | Wasafaty, Delicious Recipes From My Kitchen

Leave a Reply

